Watch Your Mouth By: Tony Evans Understanding the Power of the Tongue I saw this book and just knew it was for me, because even as Christians we need to watch our mouths even closer than others do because we set the example for people. We all know sometimes we say something that doesn’t quite come out the way you mean it to or it comes out sounding rude, hateful and even just downright mean. That is not the Christian way we know that. How can we as Christians bring people to Jesus if we don’t show them love, understanding and yes even forgiveness and forgiveness as we know is what Jesus said “If you want forgiveness you have to first forgive”. I love what it said about wisdom—it can be defined as the skill of accurately applying spiritual truths to life’s various situations. Wisdom and foolishness are often contrast with each other in the Bible one of the ways this shows up is in our speech, especially in the book of Proverbs here is an example: The tongue of the wise makes knowledge attractive, but the mouth of a fool blurts out foolishness” (15:2). The chapter on “Wisdom In Your Words” Was by far my favorite chapter in this book. It brought to light just how strong the words you use can give life or death. You will have to stop to think what you say before you say anything, but if you’re like me, I don’t usually do that because the first thing comes to my mind when someone hurts me is the first thing that comes out of my mouth.  The introduction to this book is very powerful- can you imagine a meal of smothered tongue? Well I can’t! The philosopher goes on to explain. As you read the philosophers message you will learn a valuable lesson right there that will surely make you stop to think before you speak. I learned that my tongue caused a lot of hurt someone or damaged them in a way that I wondered if it could ever be fixed. I then remembered times I praised someone or prayed then I realized I can’t use my tongue both ways. If I come with a fork tongue (good Indian saying) then I have to ask for repentance first (Deuteronomy 30:19). I love this book I highly recommend this book for everyone but especially the ones who need work on their tongue like me. This book will be reread a lot. I received this book free for an honest review from Harvest House. I was not required to write a positive review just an honest one. The opinions are entirely my own and no one else’s. 5 Stars ISBN 978-0-7369-6060-1

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

