A Jewish Baker’s Pastry Secrets By George GreenStein

A Jewish Baker’s pastry Secrets

Recipes From A New York Baking Legend for Strudel, Stollen, Danishes, Puff Pastry, and More

By:

George Greenstein

The cover is great makes you hungry for sure.

At the beginning Chapter 1 tells equipment, Tools and Ingredients. Additional tools, the in Chapter 2 Basic Techniques and recipes. There’s 10 Chapters all together. The recipes look really good and I want to try making pie crust again after learning a tip from them on pie crust. They have recipes of all kinds of fillings from fruit to cheese to jams and jellies hummy

They did say oil of cinnamon DO NOT get any on your tongue or lips— it can cause serious burn on the skin. This was nice to know because I love to taste test things to see if I want that in my recipes. So this is one to remember.

There’s Danish, Danish Pockets, all kind of Danish, Bear Claws, Cigar (hum I thought those you smoked ha ha) now Glazed Fruit Strips sounds great doesn’t it? All kind of pastries are in here.  Throughout this book it tells Baker’s secrets which are interesting really—good tips too. I found out throughout their secrets pie dough becomes tough when over worked. No wonder I had trouble with my pie crust, so I stopped trying to make pie crust years ago.

The book has good recipes but I love colorful pictures in my cook books to me makes the book and recipes come to life. There are NO pictures at all in this book!! So I was disappointed in that part of the book.

I received the book free from Bloggingforbooks for an honest review. I was not required to give a positive review just an honest one. The opinions I have expressed are entirely my own and no one else’s.

3 Stars

ISBN 978-1-60774-673-7

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

